CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

lefe

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer 1

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229

e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

MEMBERS

Federal Glover County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member

Don BlubaughPublic Member

Dwight Meadows Special District Member

> Rob Schroder City Member

Don TatzinCity Member

Gayle B. Uilkema County Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Sharon Burke Public Member

Tom Butt City Member

George H. Schmidt Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho County Member

May 9, 2012 Agenda Item 10

May 9, 2012 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Policies and Procedures Committee Appointment

Dear Commissioners:

In October 2006, the Commission appointed Commissioners Tatzin and Uilkema to serve as members of the LAFCO Policies and Procedures Committee.

In the upcoming year, the Committee will resume work on updating the Commission's policies and procedures. We anticipate revisions and additions to sections addressing changes of organization, reorganization, sphere of influence, agriculture and open space, property tax exchange, personnel and CEQA guidelines.

Sections to be developed include the following:

- · City detachment, consolidation and disincorporation
- · District detachment, formation, consolidation and dissolution
- District mergers and establishment of subsidiary districts, and mergers of existing subsidiary districts
- · Reorganization procedures
- LAFCO initiated proposals
- · Property tax exchange
- · Personnel
- CEQA guidelines

RECOMMENDATION - Given the significant amount of policy and procedures work pending, it is recommended that the Commission appoint one additional member to the Policies and Procedures Committee.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER